Artist Interview

Week 10 – Artist Interview – Kaclica Chhin and Amanda Ruiz

IMG_5543

I almost didn’t walk into this gallery because I already went into one that I liked, but I’m glad I did. It was very interesting, unexpected, and nothing I’ve seen before. This is the first thing I saw:

IMG_5542

It was a wall sculpture of moldings of boobs, butts, and penises. It caught my eye but I wasn’t sure what it was at first. As I came closer, I walked a little slower trying to understand what I was about to see. I came face to face with the sculpture, amazed, and stepped back and looked at the walls that had little drawings of different aspects of sex.

IMG_5538

IMG_5539

IMG_5541

Interesting drawings included masturbation, fingering, and oral sex. I really liked the small, different drawings, especially the color. I thought it was brave to showcase an exhibit about sex. Sex is natural and I think it can be an uncomfortable subject for people, but I enjoyed what the artists presented! Artists Kaclica Chhin and Amanda Ruiz were uncomfortable with the subject of sex at first but learned to be comfortable. They wanted others to also accept the concept of sex and the private parts of the human body, which was one of the main purposes of the gallery. Although they wanted to share this experience with others, they also respected them by posting a sign warning viewers that their art may be offensive.

The artists explained that creating the art and setting up the exhibit took a long time. Kaclica, the sculptor, told us that the sculptures of the genitals were actually moldings of private parts of family and friends! In other words, her family and friends modeled while Kaclica sculpted. I thought that was very interesting but a cool fun fact.

Sex is natural and exploring your own body is normal. I think this exhibit is very powerful because I think it’s extremely important to be confident in your own body. I’d like to thank sculptor, Kaclica Chhin and illustrator, Amanda Ruiz for creating art that explores the topic of sex, genitalia, and self-acceptance.

IMG_5540

Standard

Leave a Reply

