Activity

Week 9 – Activity – Architecture & Urban Planning

Cognitive maps. This is my cognitive map of California State University, Long Beach. I only drew most of upper campus because I’m here a lot. All my classes are located here except one, which is at CBA, but I decided to include it in my map.

IMG_5380

Adopt a building. The building I chose to adopt is the Student Recreation & Wellness Center aka the gym/rec. I chose to adopt the gym because it’s one of the cooler buildings on campus. It’s beautiful and has several features such as an indoor track, rock climbing, and sand volleyball.

The rec on campus is a great place to get in shape and have fun at the same time. It’s a huge space with endless equipment, basketball and volleyball courts, fitness classes, personal training, and swimming. Something great about the rec center is that it has intramurals, where those interested in playing sports such as basketball, volleyball, or soccer but don’t play professionally can still play competitively with others in league games. It gives students the opportunity to enjoy their hobbies without “making the team.” If you’ve ever wanted to learn how to do CPR, you can learn at the same place and become certified! Some fitness classes offered at the rec include: cardio kickboxing, H.I.T (high intensity training), and Zumba! The rec also offers programs that are accessible for all abilities, which is a great way to promote health. After a good workout, students can stop by Robeks, located near the entrance, to grab a soothing smoothie to cool off.

The Student Recreation & Wellness Center (SRWC) wasn’t always here but luckily for me, I’m able to experience this building. In 2005, ASI proposed the construction of a 126,500 square foot facility in a student fee referendum. In 2007, the vote took place and students votes yes with 74.7%. Construction began in 2009 and finished in 2010.

IMG_5383

Redesign the CSULB campus. I decided to redesign the area that includes the library. Something I’ve noticed is the need for parking by the library. My friends and I have have struggled with the fact that there is no general permit parking nearby. So I thought it would be essential to have two parking structures next to the library. There’s also this huge grass area between the liberal arts and fine arts building so I inputted an eating area. In addition, I’ve redesigned campus so that the beachside college dorm is on campus instead of off. Not only did I relocate it, but I added a mini spa and gym because the rec center would be on the other side of campus.

IMG_5379

Standard

Leave a Reply

