Extra Credit

Week 7 – Extra Credit – University Art Museum

image

I had the opportunity to go to the University Art Museum this week. I probably wouldn’t have ever gone inside if it weren’t for this class. I pass by it every other day so it was great to finally go inside and check it out. Art 110 graduate assistant, Brittany Binder had a tour of her show “Consumed,” where she basically discussed how our environment is being consumed by litter and trash. Throughout many generations, it has been stressed to throw away trash in their rightful bins such as trash, recyclables, etc. Unfortunately, a lot of trash is not being thrown away correctly thus harming our planet and ecosystem.

The artwork I was able to see was the one above. When I first saw it, it looked like a pyramid or something. Brittany explained that each square is a thin slice of trash that was squished together. Presented as a pyramid, it made me think of the trash as a growing phenomenon that started small but has become larger and larger.

Unfortunately, I was unable to see her other works of art because of class but I’m glad I got to see a few. It’s nice to see passion come alive through art and I think “Consumed” is a great gallery and I hope it inspires viewers to think twice about where they throw their trash.

Standard

Leave a Reply

