Activity

Week 7 – Activity – Portrait Photography

This week, I was excited to know that we were going to have a portrait of ourselves for our activity. Landscapes with a Corpse, by Izima Kaoru is a very creative concept and I’m glad I got to experience doing one myself. After watching the documentary, I decided to check out his artwork that he worked on for years. This photo is one of my favorites. I think it’s beautiful because of the colors. The deep red makes the beautiful woman stand out even though she is deceased. I also like the environment she’s in, by trashbags as if her body was as easy to dispose.

For my activity, I decided to do it on campus in the residence area, somewhere I can call home. It’s supposed to be a safe environment. But one day (you can interpret the way you’d like) whether it be because of drugs or alcohol, a violent act against me, or maybe accidentally tripping and falling, comes a death. I had fun doing this project but it was a little hard to figure out where to do it. I did it in several areas like grass, asphalt, paved road but on the stairs, it looked more natural. Overall the portrait photography was a great experience and I wouldn’t mind doing more of it and creating a series.

IMG_5059IMG_5060-1

Standard

Leave a Reply

