Artist Interview

Week 2 – Artist Interview – Gianina Nunez

IMG_4353

Everyone, I’d like you to meet Gianina Nunez, a senior attending California State University, Long Beach. Here she is outside of her featured art gallery, “Love Always” on campus. Her artwork were those of still life paintings. Still life is a form of art depicting inanimate objects.

IMG_4352

“Daddy’s Girl” – Gianina Nunez

This beautiful painting by the artist above is an oil painting on 10×10 board. I noticed that in her gallery, there were notes in every painting and I thought that was pretty cool that she incorporated a common theme in her paintings. Out of all her paintings, for some reason, I really liked this one. The vinyl record, glasses, and crumbs. But what caught my eye the most was the “LOVE DAD” and I thought well, this must be a sentimental painting or something along those lines. When I interviewed Gianina Nunez, I told her that this painting was my favorite and asked if she could expand on her process of this work. She told me a little story about how her father and her went to a father daughter retreat together. The two were given mini vinyl records to write a message on it for whoever they came with. In this case, this mini vinyl record was from her father. I noticed that Gianina’s glasses looked like the ones in the painting but without me asking, she explained that the glasses are actually her dads and that many people also thought it was hers. She also explained that the crumbs represent her father. Her father somehow always left a trail of food and she wanted to include this personal fact in her painting.

I really like the fact that she included something as personal as a letter from loved ones in each painting of this gallery. Looking at the little snippets of each letter, gave me somewhat of a euphoric feeling inside. It’s clear that these letters are meaningful to the artist and that the people who gave them to her played a big role in her life, as her artist statement reads, “My work encompasses testimonial artwork, trinkets, notes, and fabric patterns of individuals both living and deceased that influenced me throughout my life.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

